Annual Guest Lecturers
1971 Prof. D F N Harrison The Present Place of Chemotherapy in Head and Neck Cancer
1972 Prof. Ugo Fisch Surgery of the Internal Auditory Meatus
1973 Prof. P M Stell 100 Years of Laryngectomy
1974 Prof. H Engstrom The Inner Ear Sensory Regions under Normal and Pathological Conditions – a study using light, transmission and electron microscopy.
1975 Dr. R A Thompson Immunology of the Upper Respiratory System
1976 Prof. K Mason Aviation Pathology
1977 Dr. B T Davis Forensic Pathology
1978 Dr. G A S Lloyd Recent Trends in Radiology
1979 Dr. E F Evans Labyrinthine Physiology
Stirk Adams Lecturers
1980 Mr. R G Hughes Orbital Intrusions
1981 Mr. M Cinnamond The Use of the C02 Laser in Children
1982 Mr. Bernard Williams The Neurosurgery of Otorhinological Sepsis (70 members and guests)
1983 Mr. A G Kerr Vertigo: its Pathology and Management
1984 Mr. A G D Maran Some New Thoughts on Nasal Fractures
1985 Dr. R R A Coles Clinical Measurement of Tinnitus
1986 Mr. J S P Wilson Major Resections of Head and Neck Tumours and Reconstruction of the Defects
1987 Prof. H Stammberger Endoscopic Diagnosis and Functional Endoscopic Sinus Surgery
1988 Dr. M Hawke Up the Bony Ear Canal
1989 Mr. G D L Smyth A Lifetime’s Experience in Otology
1990 Prof. G B Snow The Management of Lymph Nodes in Head and Neck Cancer
1991 Prof. J J Grote Biomaterials in the Middle Ear
1992 Prof. Sir D Harrison A Lifetime of Management of Head and Neck Malignancy
1993 Prof. J A Raeburn Practical Aspects of New Genetics for the uk ENT Surgeon
1994 Prof. P van Cauwenberge Medical and Surgical Aspects of Sinusitis in Children
1995 Mr. J Evans A Lifetime of Paediatric Otolaryngology
1996 Mr. T R Bull The ENT Surgeon and Facial Surgery
1997 Prof. G G Browning Controversies in Otology
1998 Dr. Peter Phelps Versalius to MRI and Cochlear Implantation – Progress in Otolaryngology over Five Centuries
1999 Prof. William Wei Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma and its Treatment
2000 Prof. Mueller Genetics of Sesorineural Hearing Loss
2001 Prof. Chris Ham NHS Performance and Developments
2002 Prof. Tony Wright ENT Surgery and the Law
2003 Prof. A D Cheesman Surgical Management of Facial Palsy
2004 Mr. Johh M Graham Imaging of the Temporal Bone for Cochlear Implantation
2005 Mr. David Howard Aspects of Head and Neck Surgery with Particular use of the Laser
2006 Professor M Remacle Laser surgery in the head and neck
2007 Mr. David Moffat Complications of Middle Ear Surgery
2007 (60th) Prof. Gregory Weinstein Robotic Surgery in the Head and Neck
2008 Mr. Mark Watson Reflux disease in ENT: do you find it difficult to swallow?
2009 Mr David W. Proops Training tomorrow’s ENT surgeon
2010 Professor John Rutka Otological Curiosities
2011 Mr. Michael Rothera Paediatric Airway Challenges
2012 Professor Richard Ramsden Neural Plasticity, Cochlear Implantation (and a little bit of ethics)
2013 Professor Nicholas Jones The most important things that I have learnt during a career in ENT
2014 Mr Alan P. Johnson Green Surgery
2015 Professor Valerie Lund Sinonasal malignancy – past, present and future
2016 Mr. Peter Robb Tonsillectomy – contemporary practice, consent and litigation
2017 Prof. Gerry O’Donoghue Embracing the challenges of tomorrow’s Otology
2018 Mr. Anthony Lander The Ontogeny of pharyngeal asymmetry
2019 Mr. Brian Bingham Standards in Otolaryngology and how it relates to the NHS
2020 Mr. Andrew Swift The History and Developments in Endoscopic Sinus Surgery
2021 Mr. Ray Clarke Your tale, Sir, would cure deafness.
2022 Mr Tristam Lesser Cholesteatoma Management: World evidence updated in the covid era
2023 Prof. Vinidh Paleri Surgical innovation: a roadmap to adoption and practice change in a multidisciplinary environment
Second Yearly Lecturers
1973 Dr. R Meara Dermatological Problems Related to Otorhinolaryngology
1974 Mr. D F Cort Aspects of Plastic Surgery
1975 Miss. R McCall The Rehabilitation of the Defined Adult
1976 Dr. H A Beagley Electrocochleography and Evoked Response Audiometry
1977 Mr. G A Dalton Hypophyseal Surgery
1978 Mr. T J Parker Space Flights
1979 Mr. F Farr When the Railway came to Birmingham
1980 Dr. Roger Lee A Matter of Life and Death
1981 Mr. Henry Sandon Royal Worcester Porcelain
1982 Mr. E M Pittaway Experiences of a Town Vet
1983 Mr. K Hayes Money
1984 Dr. E R Williams Medicine and the Bible
1985 Dr. P A Thorn Birmingham to Wolverhampton by Canal – an Historical and Pictorial Survey
1986 Dr. J Fletcher & Mr K Hodgkins The Making of the Black Country
1988 Mr. E Bayliss Legal Aspects of Medicine
1989 A L Pahor Egyptology
1990 Dr. E R Williams Aquatic Man
1947 – 1977 W. Stirk Adams  
1978 – 1980 N. L. Crabtree  
1981 – 1983 J. F. Neil  
1984 – 1986 R. G. Hughes  
1987 – 1988 J. McKenzie  
1989 – 1991 J. N. M. Schofield  
1991 – 1993 G. J. Rice  
1993 – 1995 D. J. Brain  
1995 – 1997 A. R. Das Gupta  
1997 – 1999 P. J. E. Johnson  
1999 – 2001 K. P. Gibbin  
2001 – 2003 M. Hardingham  
2003 – 2005 I. Donaldson  
2005 – 2007 P. J. Bradley  
2007 – 2009 A. P. Johnson  
2009 – 2011 Mr. Richard Shortidge  
2011 – 2013 Mr. Andrew Moir  
2013 – 2015 Mr. Andrew Reid  
2015 – 2017 Mr. Edward fisher  
2017 – 2019 Mr. Paul Glossop  
2019 – 2021 Mr Adrian Thompson  
2021 – 2023 Ms Ann-Louise McDermott  
2023 – Matthew Weller